Thailand, Japan and Singapore Set Records at the 2021 World Championships


A series of records were created at the 2021 World Championships which took place last week in Huelva, Spain. Including a row of inaugural champion titles for a number of representatives and countries.

Thailand, Japan, and Singapore compact their inaugural title collection. Thailand and Japan secured the inaugural title for either sector, while Singapore’s representatives took home the first World Title in history for their country.

Dechapol Puavaranukroh / Sapsiree Taerattanachai : Dechapol/Sapsiree won the 2021 World Title after overthrowing the top seeds from Japan, Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino. Dechapol/Sapsiree won two straight games with a score of 21-13, 21-14.

This title brought Dechapol/Sapsiree to break a record for Thailand by bringing the first doubles World Champion title for the Land of a Thousand Pagodas.

We played in many tournaments, the key is to recover faster after each game and rest,” said Sapsiree quoting from the official BWF website.

Takuro Hoki / Yugo Kobayashi : Japanese men’s doubles, Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi take home the 2021 World Champion title. This title is the first world title in the men’s doubles sector for Japan.

Hockey/Kobayasi won the final round after defeating representatives of China, He Ji Ting/Tan Qiang with a score of 21-12, 21-18.

“We are very happy with our victory. We have to stay consistent, the key is to dominate the return of serve,” said Hockey.

Loh Kean Yew : Japanese men’s singles, Loh Kean Yew also broke the record for his country, Singapore. Loh became the first Singaporean badminton player to win the World Champion title in history.

Loh beat Indian badminton veteran, Kidambi Srikanth in two straight games in the final round. Loh beat Kidambi with a score of 21-15, 22-20.

Loh now deserves to be a new men’s singles threat. After the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, Loh’s performance is getting better. His defense and attack troubled his opponents.

The trouble is not only the row of seeds, but also the gold winner of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, Viktor Axelsen (Denmark).